‘Crying Just Like Anybody’

Wild Ink

This long story set in 1920s Manhattan first appeared in the Fiction Desk anthology Crying Just Like Anybody, which you can buy here. I wrote a blog-post about the development of the story here (but don’t read that before you read the story: spoilers abounding).  
 

He was a little guy: five-two, five-three. His mouth was too wide to fit his face and he didn’t have any hair. He sat with his legs neatly crossed on a deal crate and I could see his dirty woollen ankle-socks.

I don’t know, I said.

Johnny nudged me. Sure he is, he said.

I shook my head and said it again: Johnny, I don’t know.

The little guy was watching us. He seemed interested.

Sure he is.

I don’t know, I said. I mean he doesn’t look like a Martian.

Sure he does.

Sherrit nek hazzer minny most, the Martian said.

View original post 4,062 more words

Leave a Reply

