‘Paternoster’

Wild Ink

This story of Georgian depravity was written for the Liars’ League in London, and was performed by Peter Noble at the Business & Pleasure event on September 10, 2013. You can watch Peter’s reading here.   

How many is that? I have lost count. Is that five or six? Eight? Damn, you blackguard, how the devil can it be eight, I have barely been away from home for – for, well, what hour is it, Mr Calverley? It can’t be later than – oh. Gone midnight, is it. I see. Eight bottles? It seems a devilish large amount of claret, though I seem to be standing upright yet. Ay, it takes more than eight bottles of claret to bring Sir John Paternoster low! Hurrah, hurrah! Another, sir – I would drink to my own fortitude.

Now, gentlemen. There is a girl, I am told. There ought always to be…

View original post 746 more words

Leave a Reply

